One Year After the Nobel Peace Prize Award to Liu Xiaobo: Conditions for Political Prisoners and Prospects for Political Reform

2172 Rayburn House Office Building Washington, DC 20515 | Tuesday, December 6, 2011 - 2:00pm to 4:00pm

Opening Statements

Representative Christopher H. Smith, Chairman



Panel 1

Dr. Perry Link, Chancellorial Chair for Innovative Teaching, Comparative Literature and Foreign Languages, University of California, Riverside; Professor Emeritus, East Asian Studies, Princeton University

Dr. Li Xiaorong, Independent Scholar

Ms. Marian Botsford Fraser, Chair, Writers in Prison Committee, PEN International

Mr. Carl Gershman, President, National Endowment for Democracy


Panel 2

Ms. Chai Ling, Founder, All Girls Allowed

Mr. Harry Wu, Executive Director, The Laogai Research Foundation and Laogai Museum

Ms. Reggie Littlejohn, President, Women's Rights Without Frontiers

Pastor Xiqiu Bob Fu, Founder and President, ChinaAid Association