Hong Kong: Chairs’ Statement about New Sanctions for Chinese and Hong Kong Officials

March 17, 2021

(Washington, D.C.)—Senator Jeff Merkley (D-OR) and Representative James P. McGovern (D-MA), the Chair and Cochair, respectively, of the bipartisan and bicameral Congressional-Executive Commission on China (CECC), issued the following statement about the Administration’s announcement of sanctions for 24 Chinese and Hong Kong officials responsible for undermining Hong Kong’s autonomy and human rights and contributing to the failure of the Chinese government to meet its obligations under the Sino-British Joint Declaration or Hong Kong’s Basic Law.

“The sanctions on Chinese government officials announced last night are the correct response to the systematic dismantling of Hong Kong’s autonomy and freedoms. Successive administrations have used the tools provided by Congress to address the Chinese government’s brazen disregard of its obligations to the people of Hong Kong as well as its treaty obligations. The timing of the announcement sends a clear signal that the U.S. Government remains serious about holding the Chinese government accountable. We will continue to speak in defense of the Hong Kong people against the oppression of an authoritarian system.”